Chakra System


The word chakra means wheel in Sanskrit. Chakras are the energy centres of our body, and most are associate with our glands within the body. The hand positions used within Reiki correspond with the Chakras in the human body. A healthy body and mind means that the Chakras and energy flow with the body are in balance. If a chakra becomes imbalanced the change in the subtle energy flow can result in disharmony on a physical, emotional or spiritual level. Energy enters the crown chakra and is relayed to the spinal cord and nerve system along the body’s central axis. As energy moves to the lower chakra, the subtle energy currents are distributed to the appropriate organs and body parts.

There are twelve major chakras, and over one hundred minor chakras. However most people only work with the first seven chakras.


First – Root Chakra

Situated at the base of the spine on the end of coccyx, this chakra vibrates at the lowest level.

It is associated with the earth and the colour red and is the centre of physical energy and vitality. Areas of the body concerned with this energy centre include legs, feet, bones, large intestines, spine and nervous system.

The endocrine glands that relate to this chakra are the gonads.

If balanced and fully functioning this centre gives the person a will to live on the physical plane. They will be filled with vitality and energy and have enthusiasm for life.

A dysfunction in this chakra may result in the person having low energy levels, with no enthusiasm for life, feeling listless and often very unhappy.

Second – Sacral Chakra

Situated between the pubis and the navel it is associated with sexual energy.

It is associated with the colour orange.

This chakra links the emotions of fear and anxiety.

Areas of the body concerned with this energy centre include – reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder, the circulatory and lymphatic system.

The Endocrine glands, which relate to this chakra, are the adrenals.

When balanced and fully functioning, creativity and the ability to integrate the emotions are increased.

A dysfunction may result in sexual problems, kidney and bladder abnormalities, urinary infections, fertility and menstrual problems.

Third – Solar Plexus Chakra

Situated at the twelfth thoracic and first lumber vertebrae.

Chinese philosophy call this centre the ‘triple warmer’.

It is a centre of vitality. It is associated with the colour yellow.

This chakra is very active and is involved in emotional aspect, and is very active in a person with strong desires and emotions.

It is also related to bonding with a person.

This energy centre is involved in the process of digestion and absorption and areas of the body concerned with this centre include, the diaphragm, stomach, gall bladder, liver and pancreas.
Balanced and fully functioning, a deep and fulfilled emotional life is experienced.

A dysfunction may result in mood swings, with a tendency towards depression, lethargy, poor digestion and usually poor eating habits. It can also result in nervous instability.

Fourth – Heart Chakra

Situated between the fourth and fifth thoracic vertebrae. It is associated with the colour green. Physically it is associated with the heart and circulatory systems, the immune system, arms and hands.

The endocrine gland that relates to this chakra is the thymus.

The heart chakra is closely tied to the expression of love and compassion and is an important chakra centre of nurturance. Most of the organs associated with the heart nurture and promote life and vitality throughout the body.

Balanced and fully functioning the person may be more able to accept and love thy self and also the acceptance and unconditional love of others.

Possible blockages in the heart area may arise from the inability to express love and may even arise from the lack of self-love.

Fifth – Throat Chakra

Situated in the throat and associated with the colour blue. This chakra influences major glands and structures in the neck regions, i.e. thyroid and parathyroid glands, the cervical vertebrae, vocal cords, mouth and trachea.

This chakra corresponds to the laryngeal plexus and controls the voice, throat, hearing, jaw and neck.

It is related to communication and expression. It deals with everything related to sound on both a physical and metaphysical level. Communicates and mediates all emotions and feeling and provides space from self to enable inner reflection.

Imbalances and dysfunction within this centre may lead to an inability to express emotions, which can lead to frustration and tension if held on to for a long period of time. It is also the centre of will and may result in an inability to exert ones will for personal desires and inner feelings. One can also be fearful of being rejected, judged or fearful of silences. On a physical level laryngitis and thyroid problems may arise.

Sixth – Brow, Third Eye Chakra

Situated on the forehead this chakra is associated with the colour violet indigo. This chakra corresponds to the pineal gland and is concerned with true inner visions. It controls the face, eyes, nose (sinuses) and balances the left and the right hemispheres of the brain.

It connects to the part of creation, which is beyond science and physical manifestations. Thought this chakra, the “knowing” of spiritual matter is passed. Known commonly as the third eye, it is the centre of visualisation and perception, and reflects the twofold nature of the mind, the ego self and the spirit self, the reasoning mind and intuitive mind.

The mind can be focused on higher, spiritual ideals or on the mundane world. Imbalances and dysfunctions within this energy centre can result in sinus problems, cataracts, hay fever, sleeplessness, migraines and mental stress. It can lead to tiredness, Irritability, confusion and rigid thought structures.

Seventh – Crown Chakra

Situated above the crown of the head, it is one of the highest vibrational centres in the subtle body and is associated with deep inner searching (the spiritual quest). It is associated with the colour magenta, the colour of the eternal spiritual self.

The crown chakra is the master chakra, it can also help to open up and balance the other six chakras in the body and can lead to healing occurring. This chakra is most active when individuals are involved in religious and spiritual searching. When opening this chakra, the individual can enter into higher states of consciousness.

Physically this chakra is associated with the general nervous system. Unbalanced and dysfunctions of this chakra can cause depression, anxiety and a feeling of dissatisfaction.